top of page
  • Writer's pictureANNIKA Foundation

ANNIKA Intercollegiate presented by 3M Announces Field Almost Complete

Top 3 Ranked Teams in Women’s Golf – South Carolina, Wake Forest and Duke – Among 11 Powerhouses Confirmed for September Tournament in Minnesota

The ANNIKA Foundation – golf Hall-of-Famer Annika Sorenstam’s charitable organization – announces 11 of 12 teams have been confirmed for September’s ANNIKA Intercollegiate presented by 3M.

After a one-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the event will return to Royal Golf Club in Lake Elmo, Minnesota, Sept. 12-15. The star-studded field will be headlined by the No. 1-ranked South Carolina Gamecocks, No. 2 (and defending ANNIKA Intercollegiate champions) Wake Forest Demon Deacons and No. 3 Duke Blue Devils. Wake Forest led wire-to-wire on its way to a 14-shot victory in 2019.

They will be joined by Alabama, Arizona, Arizona State, LSU, Minnesota, Texas, UCLA and USC. The 12th and final spot in the field will be announced following the NCAA Championships in May.

“We can’t wait to return to the Twin Cities for the eighth edition of the ANNIKA Intercollegiate,” says Annika, the winner of the 1991 NCAA Women’s Championship during her freshman season at Arizona. “The players have really enjoyed the challenge presented by Royal Golf Club, as well as the fun, off-course activities we’ve traditionally built into the week.”

Royal Golf Club features a front nine (The Queen’s Nine) designed by Annika, and a back nine (The King’s Nine) designed by Arnold Palmer. It was Annika’s first U.S. golf course design project. Rolling hills, mature trees and abundant wildlife provide a scenic backdrop for what has become a wonderful home for the event.

Annika’s involvement with NCAA women’s golf extends to the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel. Now in its eighth year, it is presented to the nation’s most outstanding female collegiate player as voted on by players, coaches and members of the golf media. Its illustrious list of past winners features Natalie Srinivasan (2020, Furman), Maria Fassi (2018 and 2019, Arkansas), Leona Maguire (2015 and 2017, Duke), Bronte Law (2016, UCLA) and Alison Lee (2014, UCLA).

The ANNIKA Foundation is devoted to growing the game of golf around the world. In addition to its involvement with the ANNIKA Intercollegiate and ANNIKA Award, it hosts six girls-only invitational tournaments on five continents: the ANNIKA Invitational USA presented by Rolex, ANNIKA Invitational Europe and ANNIKA Cup (Sweden), ANNIKA Invitational Mission Hills (China), ANNIKA Invitational Australasia (New Zealand) and the Women’s Amateur Latin America Championship presented by The R&A and ANNIKA Foundation.

Since the inaugural Foundation tournament – the 2009 ANNIKA Invitational USA – 60 ANNIKA event alumnae have earned LPGA cards. Thirty-seven alumnae competed in the 2021 ANA Inspiration including the winner, Patty Tavatanakit.

429 views0 comments


bottom of page