top of page
  • Writer's pictureANNIKA Foundation

Arkansas' Maria Fassi Repeats as Winner of the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel

Updated: Dec 19, 2019

Seven Wins in 2018-19 Capped by the 2019 NCAA Championship

(ORLANDO, Fla.) – The ANNIKA Foundation – golf Hall-of-Famer Annika Sorenstam’s charitable organization – congratulates Arkansas senior Maria Fassi on becoming the first back-to-back winner of the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel.

Fassi ended her outstanding seven-win season by capturing the NCAA Championship in her final collegiate start, shooting rounds of 72-71-68 to take the title by four strokes. The native of Pachura, Mexico was once again recognized in a vote by fellow players, coaches and golf media.

As the 2018 and 2019 ANNIKA Award winner, she has received exemptions into the 2019 and 2020 Evian Championships, respectively. The two-time, first-team WGCA All-American made her professional debut at last week’s U.S. Women’s Open, finishing an impressive T-12. Fassi finished her amateur career ranked No. 2 in the World Amateur Golf Rankings.

“We are honored to welcome Maria as the first back-to-back winner of the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel,” says Annika, who was the winner of 1991 NCAA Championship while a freshman at the University of Arizona. “She’s a fantastic young lady and we look forward to following her as she begins what promises to be a very successful professional career.”

The two-time SEC Women’s Golfer of the Year and runner up in the inaugural Augusta National Women’s Amateur is the fourth golfer to win the ANNIKA Award. Other members of this illustrious club are Duke’s Leona Maguire (2015 and 2017), and UCLA’s Alison Lee (2014) and Bronte Law (2016).

“Winning the award means so much to me, and getting to do it for a second year means so much more,” says Fassi. “Annika is the perfect role model in all aspects of life and the game of golf. She cares so much for the game and wants to help it grow all around the world. Having a closer relationship with Annika has helped me with my game so much. She gives me great advice and she is a resource that I’m lucky to have for whatever I might need. I am certainly blessed to have won this award back to back and I can’t thank everyone enough for voting for me.”

Wake Forest senior Jennifer Kupcho and Florida State freshman Frida Kinhult were the other finalists for the 2019 ANNIKA Award.

The ANNIKA Award is an ANNIKA Foundation initiative. Oversight is provided by the Fred Haskins Commission, a 501(c)(3) organization in Columbus, Ga., which for more than 45 years has given the Haskins Award to the most outstanding male collegiate golfer.

83 views0 comments
bottom of page