top of page
  • Writer's pictureANNIKA Foundation

Arnold Palmer Cup Welcomes Women's Field for First Time

Updated: Dec 19, 2019

Photo Credit: @arnoldpalmercup via Twitter

This week, Evian Resort will host the first Arnold Palmer Cup to be held under the expanded format to include men’s and women’s American collegiate players against their counterparts from around the world. In addition, beginning this year, The Evian Championship will grant an exemption to a women’s member of the Arnold Palmer Cup. This reflects the exemption currently given to a men’s golfer by the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard.

Each team is made up of 12 male and 12 female golfers. For the United States Team selection, the first six players were selected using the Arnold Palmer Cup Rankings and the remaining six were selected using five committee picks and one coach’s pick:

United States Team (women)

Jamie Freedman, Nova Southeastern University

*Mariel Galdiano, UCLA

*Kristen Gillman, University of Alabama

*Dylan Kim, University of Arkansas

Jennifer Kupcho, Wake Forest University

*Andrea Lee, Stanford University

*Emilia Migliaccio, Wake Forest University

*Kaitlyn Papp, University of Texas

*Sophia Schubert, University of Texas

*Lauren Stephenson, University of Alabama

*Alana Uriell, University of Arkansas

*Lilia Vu, UCLA

Mirroring the United States Team, the first six players for the International Team were selected using the Arnold Palmer Cup Rankings. The remaining six spots were divided into four committee picks, a coach’s pick and The R&A Scholars Tournament champions (men’s and women’s).

International Team (women)

*Jaravee Boonchant, Duke University

*Maria Fassi, University of Arkansas

Jiwon Jeon, Daytona State College

*Wenyung Keh, University of Washington

*Olivia Mehaffey, Arizona State University

*Ainhoa Olarra, University of South Carolina

Pimnipa Panthong, Kent State University

Chloe Ryan, Instituto Superior de Derecho y Economia, Madrid

*Maddie Szeryk, Texas A&M University

*Patty Tavatanakit, UCLA

*Albane Valenzuela, Stanford University

*Dewi Weber, University of Miami

*ANNIKA Alumnae

Out of the 24 women competing this week, 19 have competed in one or more ANNIKA events. Some players from the U.S. team include Andrea Lee who is a four-time ANNIKA Invitational USA presented by Rolex participant and played in her first ANNIKA Intercollegiate presented by 3M in 2017 finishing T3. Mariel Galdiano is expected to compete in her sixth ANNIKA event in September when the Bruins make their fifth-consecutive appearance at the ANNIKA Intercollegiate. Accompanying her is fellow Bruin Lilia Vu who will play in her fifth ANNIKA event in the fall.

For the international side, Arkansas’ Maria Fassi has been very successful in ANNIKA events and awards. The winner of the 2018 ANNIKA Award presented by 3M has won back-to-back ANNIKA Intercollegiate events and helped her team to take home the title in 2017. She will return to Arkansas for her senior year and compete in the Intercollegiate at Royal Golf Club to defend her title. Jaravee Boonchant, who will represent Duke, will also be competing for the International team. She is a three-time ANNIKA Invitational participant and 2016 champion. The soon-to-be sophomore is expected to play in her first ANNIKA Intercollegiate in the fall.

Annika will be on site at Evian Resort Golf Club cheering everyone on, best of luck to both teams!

For full list of teams, click here.

98 views0 comments
bottom of page